Being Economical / Cooking

Making Homemade Bagels

I hate to admit it, but my husband isn’t too keen on my homemade honey-wheat bread. It actually really makes me sad. He doesn’t like that he has to cut it, or that when he does it slightly crumbs up! Having grown up on the stuff, I am used to it and love it (athough I must confess my last batch didn’t turn out as great as usual).

But I love my high-maintenance husband (who also refused to eat my home-made flan last night, c’mon it’s Cinco de Mayo!) so I decided to make bagels instead of bread today. He loves bagels. I never buy them because I think they’re a waste of calories. But he found this great recipe that didn’t sound too hard, so I made them today!

april-2009-053

I added Flax to it (as I do with all my bread) for those Omega 3’s and substituted 1/2 cup of wheat gluten for some of the flour since I didn’t use bread flour. And then I topped some with salt, others with sesame seeds, and two with cinnamon and sugar.

Next batch I’m going to double the recipe and add half wheat flour. And I think it would be fun to top some with cheese too, like those Asiago cheese bagels. Einstein’s Bagels – you’ve met your match! And these are 15 cents a piece to make according to Slate. And super tasty.

5 thoughts on “Making Homemade Bagels

  1. homemade bagels sound so good! I agree, though–bagels are a lot of calories for not much payoff. But if you hollow them out a little bit before you eat them, they’re a little better.

  2. Wow. Bagels are hard. I have never made them but I have made pretzels, which are similar. Good job! BTW, your husband is nuts. I wish I had someone baking me homemade bread and bagels!

  3. Just a slight correction – I LOVE my wife’s bread, it was just this last batch that was too crumbly to easily eat. You have to slice it over an inch thick in order to be thick enough to toast.
    She’s usually a freaking superstar when it comes to baking bread, though. Her last loaf of white bread was the best I’ve ever had!

    Oh yeah, and these bagels are nothing short of phenomenal!

  4. Those look awesome! Man, you sound like a pro using words like flax and gluten and all. I must admit, it’s a little intimidating…
    You said the recipe didn’t sound “too hard” — so for a beginner, on a scale of 1-10, where would you put it?

Leave a Reply

