Being Economical / Cooking

Fresh Basil Pesto

Basil is one of my favorite things growing in my garden. I’ve made bruschetta, strawberry-basil salad, spaghetti sauce, and mozzarella sandwiches with basil on top. Basil is so fragrant and delicious.

Last night I made pesto with my parents. They have a ridiculous amount of basil and can’t seem to use it fast enough.

Fresh Basil

Fresh Basil

Pesto is so easy. All you need is:

2 cups packed fresh basil

1/3 cup pine nuts

3 cloves garlic

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup grated Romano cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

I like the mixture of these two cheeses because Romano has a nice bite, but you can use 1/2 cup of one or the other. Also, I’ve heard you can use Walnuts (which are far less expensive) instead of pine-nuts, but my little H. is allergic so we used the traditional pine-nuts.

Just put the basil and nuts in a food processor until chopped down, add garlic and pulse until combined. And then add the olive oil and cheese.

Pesto

Pesto

We put it on little baguette breads with mozzarella and it was SO good. But there’s a lot of things you can do with pesto besides as a dip – add a tablespoon to your mashed potatoes, make pesto the base of pizzas, use it as the sauce for any pasta or gnocchi, and I really like it best mixed with cream cheese and milk for a creamy pesto.

P7230004

One thing my sister-in-law does is freeze individual servings of pesto in ice cube trays so they last longer – and then she just pops a few out when she wants to add it to something. What other ways do you like your pesto? Any good recipe ideas?

4 thoughts on “Fresh Basil Pesto

  1. I know what YOU like to do with pesto. You like to package it with some dry ice and mail it to your blog friend in Texas! Which is insanely convenient because I LOVE receiving pesto in the mail!

  2. sinclair boys eat it on broccoli – GASP -boys and broccoli in the same sentence. I did say they were sinclair boys…

  3. You’re inspiring me to make pesto again. It’s been a while but I have a lot of basil right now. By the way, you can use walnuts but pine nuts are more delicious!

Leave a Reply

