Advertising

Madmen Season 3

If you haven’t watched seasons one and two of Madmen, I’m not sure we can be friends. Ok, that’s a little extreme, but seriously it’s the best-written show on TV.

mad_men_cd_cover_325x325

Madmen is about a fictitious ad firm on Madison Ave in NYC in the 1960’s. I love it because I’m in advertising. I love it because it’s scandalous and poignant. I love it for its perfectly-acted pauses, meaningful looks, and writing. The writers don’t waste one single word. (7 of the 11 writers are women, I’ll have you know). Everything is important. Vanity Times just did an article on it if you want more info on the idea behind it.

Madmen Cast

Madmen Cast

Anyway, so the first two seasons were amazing. And the 3rd season aired tonight. *Spoilers ahead* I really loved it’s storytelling in this first episode – it’s so poetic how it started with Don remembering his birth, while making milk for his pregnant wife. Then at the end he slips into this same fog of remembrance while telling his oldest daughter about her birth.

Don has so many ghosts – so much is always weighing on him. I thought from the way the last season ended that he’d be a little further on the path to peace than he really is. The fact that he’s so troubled makes the show so addicting. You want to fix him.

Peggy is my favorite character. I love her honesty, her candor. She’s someone I would want to be friends with.

Pete is someone I’d want to slug in the face several times a week, and then pat him on the back and comfort him the other days. He’s so pathetic in an endearing way.

Joan is stunning. I hang on every word she says and am always impressed at her poise and grace. She’s powerful but calming all at the same time. I wish I could be more like that.

Anyway, I’m an addict and I’m so excited about the new season. Are there any shows you’re excited for this Fall?

10 thoughts on “Madmen Season 3

  1. It was a good premiere episode. Next time we see each other I want to hash the various episodes because they are layered and deep.
    I still don’t know if I understand everything from last season. Like what was the weird commune that Don goes to in California last season? Strange but provocative.
    As far as other shows I am very excited for Project Runway to return, as well as How I Met Your Mother and Big Bang Theory. 24 was weak last season but I still like it. It is addicting.

  2. Sounds like one I will need to check out. Cole and I are really excited for Friday Night Lights. Nothing as deep but a fun reminder of all the things you loved (and loved to hate) from a southern town high school.

  3. I have wanted to start watching this. I am obsessed with Brothers and Sisters and Desperate Housewives. Can’t wait for my 2-hour tv-watching sprees on Sunday nights to begin again.

  4. i couldn’t keep reading because i didn’t want to get to the spoilers…i am obsessed!!! we’re almost done with season 2 dvds. can we come over to watch season 3? best. show. ever!!! (that and sytycd, of course)

  5. FNL is well acted and the story is interesting but I hate the giggly camera work. Makes me dizzy.

  6. “I love it for its perfectly-acted pauses, meaningful looks, and writing.”

    I love YOU for getting the “its” down! And I promise, promise I will be checking out this show soon.

    Viva la grammar.

  7. Wasn’t that a great episode?!? I agree about Joan. She is a scene-stealer. I swear, I watch her scenes twice. Great character.

    And Sal and Don’s trip–awesome.

Leave a Reply

