Uncategorized

Don’t Stop Believing. Hold onto that Feeling

I have Journey in my head. I don’t even like Journey but my friend made me an awesome CD to brighten my spirits a few weeks ago and I can’t stop listening to the first song on it. It’s the Glee version of “Don’t Stop Believing.” Fantastic.

I don’t know why, but the thought keeps coming to me that I never blog about anything religious or spiritual. And I keep wondering why I don’t bring it up. I don’t know if it’s because this blog started out as mostly as an outlet of a working-and-stay-at-home-mom, and thus my posts are typically about work or mommyhood or what. Maybe it’s because I respect what other people believe and don’t like to push my beliefs on anyone else, or make anyone uncomfortable. Or maybe I’m just uncomfortable putting this big, huge, important part of me out there for speculation.

I’m not sure what it is, but today I re-watched Elder Jeffrey R. Holland’s General Conference address about the Book of Mormon and it did something to me today. It made me think about the importance of sharing your beliefs without fear. There’s so much on blogs these days – and Facebook – and TV – and the internet – and everywhere else that speak so loudly and so brashly against the things of God and the things that I believe in. The things of God are quieter, softer, and more peaceful  – and thus harder to get if you’re not listening. Sometimes I think we have to be more vocal and more clear than we usually are if we’re going to counteract the things that seek to destroy the things of God.  Just so it’s clear – I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. A Mormon. And I know God lives. I know Jesus is the Christ and Savior of all mankind and it is only through him that we can be saved. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet of God who restored The Church in its fullness. And I know the Book of Mormon to be a true and living testament of Jesus Christ. And if you’re not LDS and ever have questions about The Church, I’d love to help answer them.

I love Holland’s address at General Conference – it is so powerful. Today it helped me remember what I already know.

and part 2:

6 thoughts on “Don’t Stop Believing. Hold onto that Feeling

  1. Well said, Amber! I agree with absolutely everything you wrote. Elder Holland’s talk was one of my favorites, too. Thank you!

  2. I was in the conference center when this address was given and it blew me away. I felt sorry for whomever spoke after Elder Holland because I think most of us were still thinking about his powerful testimony.

  3. I’ve also generally avoided blogging about religion. Mostly because I am afraid of things being misconstrued and my message not being conveyed the way I would want. I applaud you for your boldness!

  4. Thank you for not only referring to Elder Holland’s address, but also for posting the video. It made it so easy to watch again, and it was a powerful start to my day!

  5. Thanks for making it easy for me to view Elder Holland’s talk. It was even more impressive and made me more emotional today than when I saw it originally.

Leave a Reply

