Cooking / Raising a Toddler

Happy New Year! Here Are My Goals

I love goals. I write them down every year and I enjoy checking them off. The year I met my husband I wrote 1) Meet my soul mate. 2) Marry my soul mate. I was three months late on the second one but I still consider it mission accomplished 🙂 So anyway, I am also interested in other people’s goals. So share yours! Tell me what you’ve resolved to do this year. Here are a few of mine:

  • Spend Less Money at Home Depot. When you buy an old house, this comes with the territory. You’re constantly spending your Benjamins fixing up the place. A little paint here, a new toilet there and you’ve spent your entire “flexible spending” budget. I’m over it. My goal in 2010 is to sell my house and buy one that allows me not to spend even $1 at Home Depot. That might be a stretch. Maybe I’ll just start shopping at Lowes.
  • Be More Conscientious When I Cook. I keep hearing all about the inhumane way they treat poultry. My husband watched a program about it and nearly threw up. They shred the chickens immediately after they lay eggs. I’ve read they pump them full of hormones to have them reach full growth faster so they can sell them faster. They cut off their beaks so they can’t peck each other since they’re jam packed together in a cage. Poultry aren’t considered live-stock so there are no rules on how they are raised. Gross! And meat farmers aren’t any better. They also pump their cattle full of hormones. They get more money for using corn for their cattle instead of grass which they can naturally process. Corn makes them bloated and they have to be cut to let the air out. Gross! So to my point: I am going to be more conscientious about where I buy my meat, what kind of eggs I buy, and what kind of poultry I get. I know Whole Foods has higher standards for meat and poultry than other stores around here. But you can also purchase meat and poultry from local farmers. Unfortunately there aren’t a lot of local farmers around here who have free range poultry or grass-fed cattle. I found a couple meat producers I like, and am especially impressed by Bar 10 Beef. but the only farm that has everything I want is Running Water Farms Evanston, WY. I might have to make a trip up there and freeze the meat….
  • Get Out of Diapers. My goal is to get H. pre-school ready by next September. This includes getting him potty trained. Right now he is showing zero interest. The only thing he likes to do on his potty is stand on it. He knows when he’s poopy, he knows when he’s wet (he’ll announce it to some degree, but then lie about it when I ask him if he’s ready for a diaper change). He doesn’t seem to mind sitting in his own poop. So this one may take a while. The doctor said to work on it when he’s 2 1/2 – 3 so we’ll see how the summer goes…

Anyway, those are some of mine. What are some of yours?

7 thoughts on “Happy New Year! Here Are My Goals

  1. Some of mine include: eating at home more often; more money in savings; hopefully buying a house if Scotty gets in to the U of U for his masters degree and of course the exercise/lose weight one that will always be on my list I think 🙂

  2. There’s a place on about 5th E and 9th S, I think, called Rico’s Locals. They carry local meat by Morgan Valley Ranch as well as local dairy and other good stuff.
    Good goals, let me know how the potty training goes; Sam’s interest in going on the potty has fallen to about zero. I’m thinking maybe just because it’s winter and sitting on the potty is chilly. He demands a “clean diaper” the instant he poops though, so the awareness is definitely there, just not the motivation so much… 🙂

  3. i know where to find good WY meat and we could feed you and give you a place to sleep on your great hunt…oh, and wild game is free at my house. as much as you can haul away! miss you.

    Sj

  4. okay. I’ve heard that coscto has better meat as well. Higher standards/tighter regulations?

    Good luck with the potty training. I’m up to my neck in it right now. FUN TIMES ALL AROUND:)

  5. I have heard that boys are harder to potty train than girls. At least that is what I am hoping. Ben sure wasn’t a walk in the park. Hopefully, Lydia isn’t quite as bad.

  6. Pingback: How to Save When You’re Shopping at Whole Paycheck « Alice’s World and What She Saw There

Leave a Reply

