Cooking

My Favorite Breakfast Recipes

I’ve had a few people ask me to post the recipes I have been using lately – just the really good ones. And I totally get it. You don’t want to experiment when you’re dealing with ingredients you don’t usually have in the kitchen. So here are some of the breakfast recipes we really like lately. I will post later my favorite desserts!

BUTTERNUT SQUASH pancakes (GAPS)

  • 1 Cup Butternut Squash
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 TBSP Coconut Oil (higher than 74 degrees so it’s melty)
  • 1 TSP Baking Powder
  • 1 TSP Vanilla
  • 1 TSP Cinnamon

Pour items into a blender and blend. I cook with coconut oil in the pan. They need to be cooked on low-medium. Holds likes them with honey. I prefer mine with homemade yogurt and fruit.

Squash Pankcakes GAPS

Squash Pankcakes GAPS

CHOCOLATE PROTEIN SHAKE

  • 1/2 Cup Sunflower Seed Butter
  • 3 TBSP Cocoa
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 TBSP Coconut Oil
  • 1 Cup Raw Milk (or Almond Milk)
  • 1 Cup Ice
This is deliciously chocolatey and perfect after a work-out. I made these with almonds rather than nut butter and made them into popsicles, but Holds didn’t like the “things” in it – he kept trying to pick all the little nut bits out and hand them to me. So I will try again with this because it’s perfect!
Chocolate Protein Shake

Chocolate Protein Shake

Zucchini bread

I have been experimenting with soaking grains lately. Soaking reduces phytic acid which blocks the absorption of minerals from whole grains. Read this for more information on it and some how to’s. I have been looking for a healthy zucchini bread recipe (since I have like 5 zucchini plants that I though were butternut squash when I planted them) that uses whole grain flour.

This one is awesome. This is the original recipe, but I made a couple modifications. Instead of 1 1/2 cups wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups bread flour, I used 3 cups of Wonder Flour. Wonder flour is just equal parts of Barley, Spelt and Brown Rice ground up. I soaked them first, then dried them in the oven, the ground them in my grinder. And it turned out fantastic! Great recipe.

Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

GREEN SMOOTHIES

Growing a salad bar in my garden has been the best decision I made this year because I have just LOVED having green smoothies every other day. I would WAY rather drink my greens than eat them, to be honest. Wes and I love them, and Fitz loves them, but it’s a trial to get Holden on board. He doesn’t really like any smoothies. He prefers thin juice. Maybe it’s a texture thing? Anyway, but these are wonderful.

  • Handful of greens. We use combination of whatever we have that day: Swiss Chard, Bok Choy, Spinach, or Buttercrunch
  • Pinch of Parsley and/or Basil
  • 1 1/2 Cups of Juice. We used a combination of apple juice, carrot juice, orange juice or apricot nectar.
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Cup (at least) of ice

Blend in the  blender until green bits are all combined and banana is pureed.

Green Smoothie

Green Smoothie

Zucchini nut Bread (GAPS)

  • 1 Cup Nut Butter Spread (we use sunflower seed butter)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 – 3/4 Cup grated zucchini
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar or Lemon Juice

Holds loves this zucchini bread. I can’t stand it, but I make it for him. And Fitz likes it too. Keep in mind it comes out green. I don’t know why because other kinds of zucchini bread don’t turn green, but this one does. When we were full-blown GAPS I got so frustrated with the bread. NONE of the GAPS bread I ever tried cut very well, and it always turned out soggy except for this one. It has been a lifesaver! And it’s super healthy. The original recipe is here, which is much sweeter and doesn’t have zucchini. But this is how I make mine.

Blend everything in a blender. Then divide between two small loaf pans or one big 9×4 one. Bake 350 for 40 minutes.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Breakfast Recipes

  1. Great post! I just tried the chocolate protein shake and it was yummy. It was a perfect healthy snack minus unnecessary sugar. Thanks!

  2. I’ve been doing a lot of butternut squash pancakes lately. Thank you for posting! 😀 My 4-yr-old son really likes them too. But we do them crepe style because I’m pretty sure baking powder is not allowed on GAPS.

  3. I made the gaps zucchini bread today. I did add about 1 tbsp honey. It did not turn out green at all, just a normal brown, kind of the color of whole wheat bread. It has a slightly spongy texture with a thick crust and seems more like a sandwich bread than a quick bread to me. It sliced very nicely. Thanks for the GAPS recipe!

Leave a Reply

